Applications are open to apply for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship 2020. Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those unable to study in the UK for financial and other reasons.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are offered for citizens of certain developing Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), with the aim of contributing to the UK’s international development aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

Its purpose is to contribute to development needs of Commonwealth countries by providing training for skilled and qualified professionals in key development areas.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship 2020


Host Country

  • United Kingdom

Degree Level

  • Master Degree Scholarships


  • Fully Funded

Financial Benefits

The financial benefits include:

  • Full tuition fees will be covered in this online-based degree
  • And also other essentials cost of studying by distance learning from UK.

Eligible Countries

Only commonwealth countries can apply for this international distance learning scholarship. The list of eligible countries is as under:

  1. Bangladesh
  2. Cameroon
  3. Eswatini
  4. The Gambia
  5. Ghana
  6. Guyana
  7. India
  8. Kenya
  9. Kiribati
  10. Lesotho
  11. Malawi
  12. Mozambique
  13. Nigeria
  14. Pakistan
  15. Papua New Guinea
  16. Rwanda
  17. Sierra Leone
  18. Solomon Islands
  19. Sri Lanka
  20. Tanzania
  21. Tuvalu
  22. Uganda
  23. Vanuatu
  24. Zambia

Academic Fields & Majors

The list of academic fields is given below:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security, and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion, and opportunity

Note: Please browse all Fields HERE

Eligibility Criteria

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.
  • Be unable to afford to study the program without this scholarship.

Documents Requirement

  • At least one reference– submitted directly by the referee to the online application system (referees will be sent an email request)
  • An offer letter to start their chosen course of study in the 2020-2021 academic year – uploaded to the online application system
  • Full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications (with certified translations if not in English) – uploaded to the online application system

Last Date to Apply

The last date to apply for the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship 2020 is 13th April 2020.

Application Procedure

You can apply by visiting the official site here: